Time for change

As Samhain quickly approaches, I’ve been thinking about the changes I want to bring in to my life, my Self, and my relationships during the coming year.  What do I want to start doing more of, what do I want to do less of, how do I want to be with the significant people in my life, what thought patterns and behavior patterns do I want to demolish, revise, and reconstruct.  Change, it’s just in the air all around us.

I’ve spent most of my adult life detesting politics.  I felt that they brought out the worst in people.  I’ve never preached about politics before and when they’ve come up in conversations, I usually avoid the topic or leave.  For me, that has begun to change this year and with this election.  Never before have I looked at a candidate and truly believed them and/or in them.  Never before have I seen a candidate so grounded and balanced.  Never before have I seen a candidate with the amazing energy of Barack Obama. It feels to me like our country is hanging in a balance as we get closer to the 2008 elections.

A friend of mine recently told me that when she looked at McCain/Palin, she saw the Patriarchy and everything it embodies.  I hadn’t thought of it previously, but I completely agreed with her comment after I looked at it.  Today I was reading CNN.com and came upon an article in which McCain quite clearly proved it himself in saying this about himself and his VP running mate: “She is a direct counterpoint to the liberal feminist agenda for America…She’s a reformer. She’s a conservative. She’s the best thing that could have happened to my campaign and to America.” Liberal feminist agenda?  You mean the one that wants men and women to be equal?  To gain equal pay for equal work?  The one that wants to demolish the glass ceiling and everything it stands for?  I couldn’t stand Palin from the beginning, particularly after I learned she had a priest pray over her before she was elected as governor to protect her from witchcraft, but this is just disgusting.  And it seriously saddens me to see the reality that there are so many women out there who have internalized the patriarchy that condemns them as unequal, as less than, and stand right there beside it defending it.

Are we ready as a country for the patriarchy to begin crumbling?  Goddess, I hope so.  I think about what I’ve learned in my classes about change, about how one needs to experience a certain amount of pain associated with the way things are and have been before change becomes a viable option, one that looks remotely appealing to even be considered. I know I’ve had enough, and I’m praying that enough of the American people are standing beside me feeling the same thing.

Though I have a hard time believing I have any republican readers, please, take a look at this video.  I found it to be so compelling and so moving.  Obama might be a few points ahead in the polls, but change does not happen when we sit back and think it’ll come on its own, when we feel like we’ve done a few things and now it’s all downhill from here, when we get complacent. What kind of change do you want to bring into our country?

One thought on “Time for change

  1. Thought provoking post.
    I SO agree it is time for “change”..I will not be sitting back…in fact, I will be voting early tomorrow. For the first time in years..I feel hope and I feel inspired.

    Good energies and peace of heart to you!

Your comments are welcome!

